Forum for Savannah, GA and surrounding area gamers
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 dropships and death co

Go down 
AuthorMessage
randall flagg

avatar

Posts : 6
Join date : 2011-07-16
Location : savannah

PostSubject: dropships and death co   Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:14 pm

Hey all,

I'm running a blood angels at the moment and using death company (with jumps packs) as my primary assault troops. I have them loaded ijn to a stor,raven to be dropped as the first objective. My question is can death co reembark the ship after they've left if it is and their direction of travel?

Also do the same rules covering the movement of death company also apply to there dreadnought? If so wouldn't that make his melta weapon useless?

Thanks.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.redtube.com
Chapter Master Christian
Admin
avatar

Posts : 63
Join date : 2011-04-11
Location : Savannah, GA

PostSubject: Re: dropships and death co   Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:31 pm

Okay...

First...Death Company must move towards the nearest enemy unit, so in the movement phase they jump 12" or if no JP then they walk 6" at closest enemy. At that point if they are all within 2" of a transport vehicle they may embark. You would probably have to move the Storm Raven along side of them to complete this, and once they embark, the Storm Raven won't be able to move again. If the storm raven moves over 12" from its original position, the Death Company would also not be able to embark as it moved flat out. Its a tough trick to pull off.

The Same goes for the Death Company Dreadnought.

You'd probably end up just wasting your movement phase that turn for 3 units where it would almost be better to use a different trick.

Now Rage states that you must move as fast as possible toward enemy unit...whichever is closest. In the shooting phase you MAY run...but you may also shoot. So your Dread can fire at any unit, not just the closest. Also if you choose to run...you can run in any direction, doesn't have to be closest enemy unit. You can also assault any unit in range...not just the closest one. However, if you consolidate from a CC, you have to do so towards the closest enemy unit.

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ardcoregamerz.forumotion.com
randall flagg

avatar

Posts : 6
Join date : 2011-07-16
Location : savannah

PostSubject: Re: dropships and death co   Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:38 pm

Ok second question on death co. If deployment of the dread is dependent on at least five death co does it also share unit coherence with them
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.redtube.com
Chapter Master Christian
Admin
avatar

Posts : 63
Join date : 2011-04-11
Location : Savannah, GA

PostSubject: Re: dropships and death co   Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:58 pm

No...the death company dread is an independent unit purchase at a rate of 1 per every 5 death company marines. The also take up a spot on your force organization slot. So here is the chart...

5 Death Company Marines= 1 Death Company Dreads
10 Marines=2 Dreads
15 Marines=3 Dreads
20 Marines=4 Dreads
25 Marines=5 Dreads

Of course it maxes out at 25 marines and 5 dreads since you only have 6 troops slots. They are also subjected to the same rules as the marines as well..i.e. they are not scoring units, rage rule...etc.

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ardcoregamerz.forumotion.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: dropships and death co   

Back to top Go down
 
dropships and death co
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Ard Core Gamerz :: Warhammer 40K :: Rules Discussion-
Jump to: