Forum for Savannah, GA and surrounding area gamers
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 I tests and Monster Mounts?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Event Grot

avatar

Posts : 51
Join date : 2011-04-13
Location : Savannah

PostSubject: I tests and Monster Mounts?   Tue May 03, 2011 11:38 pm

Looking for a ruling on how to deal with Characters riding monsters and I tests...

Havent found a direct ruling in the rule book, but have found 3 tracks of thought.

1) treat as cav. and use the higher of the two Is.

2) treat as monster and handler and use that I of the monster.

3) each rider and monster must check under thier own I. each being affected seperate.

let me know what you think and how you would rule. Or if you can get me the page number needed to get the official ruling.

thanks,
EG
Back to top Go down
View user profile
jdbleam



Posts : 11
Join date : 2011-05-05

PostSubject: Re: I tests and Monster Mounts?   Tue May 10, 2011 9:00 pm

GW just released a slew of FAQ's for Warhammer on the website. Your answer may be in there
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Event Grot

avatar

Posts : 51
Join date : 2011-04-13
Location : Savannah

PostSubject: Re: I tests and Monster Mounts?   Wed May 11, 2011 9:57 pm

Checked new FAQ, no direct quote... Grrrr GW why must you vex us so?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chapter Master Christian
Admin
avatar

Posts : 63
Join date : 2011-04-11
Location : Savannah, GA

PostSubject: Re: I tests and Monster Mounts?   Sun May 15, 2011 9:23 pm

Interesting, looking thru book the thing I am seeing under pg. 105, Ridden Monsters, Templates states "If you use a weapon or spell that uses a template, both the riders and the mount are automatically hit if the monster's base is touched by the template (note that this includes bouncing cannonballs!).

So all those test that use templates like Purple Sun...would require you to test both the riders and the mount...if the mount is destroyed the rider goes on foot, if the rider is destroyed you would roll on the Monster Reaction Table. Thinking that if it a draw a line test it would fall under the same ruling as a cannonball line.

It also states on pg. 105 under Ridden Monsters, "If a character model is riding a monster, it does not use rules for cavalry or monstrous cavalry, but rather those given here."

Those are my thoughts to the situation.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ardcoregamerz.forumotion.com
HalflingScribe

avatar

Posts : 11
Join date : 2011-04-14

PostSubject: Re: I tests and Monster Mounts?   Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:56 pm

I'm inclined to agree with Mr. Christian.

Unless otherwise clarified in an FAQ, I would go with the monster and rider having to test separately. The cannonball rules, where the rolls to wound are made separately, provide a precedent.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: I tests and Monster Mounts?   

Back to top Go down
 
I tests and Monster Mounts?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» The effect of monster mounts
» Monster Academy Student List
» Monster Hunter Freedom Unite- Diamyo Hermitaur shell break
» MONSTER HUNTER 2 (PS2) ONLINE
» Friggin' lg monster bones!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Ard Core Gamerz :: Warhammer Fantasy :: Rules Discussions-
Jump to: